2016-02-26 Please circulate press release re. UL standards being inadequate

1)    Here is a press release that was sent to media today.

– http://www.stopsmartmetersbc.com/ul-certification-of-safety-playing-with-fire/

111500

Itron_Logo_Ribbon

It is about the UL certification of $$meters that have burned and failed. ITRON has applied to UL to certify the meters that are already on homes in BC, and once these are certified, BC Hydro and FortisBC will try to assure us that this means these meters are safe. The certification is meaningless because if a smeter is safe, it shouldn’t burn.   Please send this out to newspapers and radio stations in your area. We need to get this out.

2)    Kit Weaver at the US site “Smart Grid Awareness” has written another good article about the vulnerability of the grid. He discusses a new article in the last issue of  “The Discover”.

smart-grid-vs-safe-grid

The Discover article highlights the work of a trio of scientists and their findings that so-called smart grid technologies “could have unintended consequences on reliability” beyond the consideration for cybersecurity risks.”

blackout-of-the-century-from-discover

http://smartgridawareness.org/2016/02/26/smarter-grid-could-become-less-safe-grid/

Letters:

From: Jerry Flynn
Sent: February 24, 2016
To: justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca; Jane.Philpott@parl.gc.ca; Rona.Ambrose@parl.gc.ca; Thomas.Mulcair@parl.gc.ca; Kellie.Leitch@parl.gc.ca; hedy.fry@parl.gc.ca; oppositionleader@leg.bc.ca; judy.darcy.mla@leg.bc.ca; scott.fraser.MLA@leg.bc.ca; cmamsc@cma.ca; editorial@cmaj.ca; complaints@cps.sk.ca; cpsm@cpsm.mb.ca; feedback@cpso.on.ca; info@cmq.org; info@cpsnb.org; info@cpsns.ns.ca; cmoyse@cpspei.ca; cpsnl@cpsnl.ca; glen_abernethy@gov.nt.ca; info@gov.nu.ca; ymc@gov.yk.ca; elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca; JAG.Minister@gov.bc.ca; premier@gov.bc.ca
Cc: ghinfo@gov.bc.ca; hlth.minister@gov.bc.ca; hlth.dmooffice@gov.bc.ca; richard.stanwicke@viha.ca; murray.fyfe@viha.ca; Dr. Dee Hoyano <dee.hoyano@viha.ca>; Dr. Paul Hasselback <paul.hasselback@viha.ca>; Dr. Charmaine Enns <charmaine.enns@viha.ca>; trevor.corneil@interiorhealth.ca; trevor.corneil@interiorhealth.ca; Dr. Sue Pollock <sue.pollock@interiorhealth.ca>; kamran.golmohammadi@interiorhealth.ca; Dr. Sandra Allison (Chief) <sandra.allison@northernhealth.ca>; Dr. Raina Fumerton <raina.fumerton@northernhealth.ca>; Dr. Patty Daly (Chief) <patty.daly@vch.ca>; Dr. Reka Gustafson <reka.gustafson@vch.ca>; Dr. James Lu <james.lu@vch.ca>; paul.martiquet@vch.ca; Dr. Mark Lysyshyn <mark.lysyshyn@vch.ca>; Dr. Meena Dawar <meena.dawar@vch.ca>; Althia.Raj@huffingtonpost.com; Dr. Althea Hayden <althea.hayden@vch.ca>; victoria.lee@fraserhealth.ca; mark.bigham@fraserhealth.ca; elizabeth.brodkin@fraserhealth.ca; marcus.lem@fraserhealth.ca; Dr. Lisa Mu <lisa.mu@fraserhealth.ca>; Dr. Shovita Padhi <shovita.padhi@fraserhealth.ca>; Dr. Gillian Arsenault <gillian.arsenault@fraserhealth.ca>; Dr. Andrew Larder <andrew.larder@fraserhealth.ca>; andrew.weaver@leg.bc.ca; Dr. Michelle Murti <michelle.murti@fraserhealth.ca>; Dr. Helena Swinkels <helena.swinkels@fraserhealth.ca>; president@doctorsofbc.ca; dermot.kelleher@ubc.ca; marijoelchamberlain@bccpac.bc.ca; reception@bcfed.ca; presidentsoffice@bctf.ca; Gayle.duteil@bcnu.org; graemejohnston@bcfmwu.com; sav.dhaliwal@burnaby.ca; arichmond@cariboord.bc.ca; murry.krause@cinhs.org; martin@csrd.bc.ca; clrjang@vancouver.ca; wbaldwin@whiterockcity.ca; stewartmayor@gmail.com; akaehn@rdffg.bc.ca; rglumac@portmoody.ca; amorse@bimbc.ca; mayor@invermere.net; Chuck Puchmayr <cpuchmayr@newwestcity.ca>; bprice@comox.ca; jimabram@xplornet.ca; oakbaymayor@oakbay.ca; cshuman@dawsoncreek.ca; asingh@kamloops.ca; ‘Board of Health Toronto’ <boh@toronto.ca>;

Subject: Residential Electricity – a Threat More Serious Than Global Warming!

Surely THIS  warrants the personal attention of Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Health Minister Jane Philpott? The following figures (from page 2 of the attached letter) show the unbelievably dangerous chasm that exists between what Health Canada and electric utilities say is safe and what Non-industry Scientists have been saying for decades is safe for the public! Neither Prime Minister Trudeau nor Health Minister Philpott is being told the truth! In part, this explains why Canada (like most countries of the world today) is experiencing growing epidemics of leukemia and many other cancers, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, ALS and most other major diseases today!

Given the portent of this letter, I respectfully ask that the Prime Minister or the Minister of Health personally reply to me. Given the content of my letter, it would be completely inappropriate for anyone from Health Canada to respond to me other than Minister Jane Philpott herself. Thank you.

(The following data refers to ‘safe’ levels of invisible and undetectable yet potentially toxic magnetic fields that should be permitted in homes, places of work, and the community.)

Scientists Say

  0.1 mG is the desired level for homes, schools and the workplace!
<0.2 mG is the maximum level he recommended for schools!
<1 mG is the maximum level he considered ‘safe’ for the general public!
<1 mG is considered by scientists to be a ‘safe’ level for homes by scientists.
>3 mG is known to be associated with leukemia in children
<3 mG is the current US Industry standard. [4]

 

Health-Canada-logo

Health Canada and its Regulatory Agency Allies Say

2,000 mG (public) & 10,000 mG (occupational) – says ICNIRP [5] [6]
2,000 mG (public) & 10,000 mG (occupational) – says the WHO
(even though, in 2002, its own International Agency For Research on Cancer (IARC) classified ELF magnetic fields a Class 2B
(“Possible”) carcinogen!) [7] [8] [9]
2,000 mG (public) & 10,000 mG (occupational) – says the UK
9,040 mG (public) – says the IEEE
No ceiling required – says USA Federal Gov’t [10]
No ceiling required – says Health Canada! [11]
(Note: The revised SC6 (2015) still applies only to frequencies above 3 kHz!) [12]

 

Sincerely,
James G. (“Jerry”) Flynn, Captain (Ret’d)

_________________________________________________________________________

BCHydro

From: X
Sent: February 25, 2016
To: SmartMeters@bchydro.com
Cc: Sharon Noble; norm.macdonald.mla@leg.bc.ca; Adrian.dix.mla@leg.bc.ca
Subject: Re: BC Hydro Meter Choices Program

meter-choices-hires

Dear Michael,

We are in receipt of your response to our email of February 14, 2016 regarding the planned meter exchange at our home.  Thank you.  We still have the same requests as in our original email and we want our position on record as of today.

1)  We want an analog meter.

We have also been told by Jessica (by phone call on February 15) that there were no more analog meters as of December 31, 2015.  We know from other sources that some analog meters have been available and installed after that time.  Therefore, we are hopeful that there may be an analog meter for our exchange.  If that isn’t the case, and BC Hydro chooses to place a “radio-off” meter on our home, then it will be done against our wishes, without our agreement.  We currently have a request in for proof of the date of the last “batch” certification of our analog meter (Electric Meter Inquiry certificate) and request that it not be replaced until we know for certain that the seal has truly expired.  We have been in contact with Measurement Canada.

2) We require an appointment.

After repeated requests for an appointment in our phone call with Jessica on February 15, she said she would put a note in our file that the installer call us the day before they come for the exchange.  In your email to us, you state that “as a courtesy, we’ll ask our authorized installer to contact ######  the day before they visit.  We can’t guarantee this call.”  This takes away the assurance we got from Jessica.  It shouldn’t be too hard to put a date of exchange on the Work Order and notify us.  As soon as we have the date, we will remove the cage over the meter.  We want to be assured that we can turn the power off prior to the exchange.   We have only one day in March when we cannot be home — Thursday, March 3 — as Dave has to have stitches removed after surgery so, of course, we request that not be the day of exchange.  All other days, we will be sure to be home if we know the installer is coming.

3) We request a BC Hydro installer.

We have had 2 experiences with Corix employees that we had to report on.  They are recorded in our file which we have just received through a FOI request.  For the first experience, there is a note for 15.01.2014.  A copy of the letter to Corix was sent to BC Hydro on 16.01.2014 which is not in the file.  The note of 22.01.2014 states the details of the apology we received from Corix.  The other experience was when we had our analog meter replaced on June 4, 2014 also by a Corix installer — note and a copy of email sent to Greg Reimer on 14.06.2014 are in the file.  We would rather have a BC Hydro employee do the exchange.

We are sorry to have to spend so much of our time and yours, but this is extremely important to us.  It is causing us much worry.  Thank you for your help.

X

 

Sharon Noble
Director, Coalition to Stop Smart Meters

When Injustice becomes - Jefferson