2014-10-27- Scathing report on Saskatchewan’s smart meter program results in CEO’s resignation. Is Bennett next?

1) Heads are rolling in Saskatchewan over a report that sites lack of concern for public safety. The same rush to implement occurred in BC and, like Saskatchewan, no one is providing oversight.  Moisture is identified as a problem that led to the “failures”. Fires can result because the $$meters are poorly designed and cheaply made of combustible materials. Meters must, according to regulations, be able to withstand moisture that is inevitable — even from condensation.  Fires have occurred in BC that have been blamed on moisture.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/saskatchewan/saskpower-ceo-robert-watson-resigns-over-smart-meter-controversy-1.2814485

http://www.leaderpost.com/technology/SaskPower+smart+meter+project+inherently+flawed+report+finds/10328454/story.html

Here is the full press release with links to the entire report.  http://www.saskatchewan.ca/government/news-and-media/2014/october/27/smart-meter-review

Please send these articles to your MLA, asking what he/she is going to do to protect us. Why is this dangerous program continuing in BC? Bennett will deny, saying the meters are a different brand. They still burn!!!

 

2) Attached is a resolution passed by Township of Spallumcheen Council regarding concerns surrounding Smart Meters. This council is to be congratulated for taking a stance on behalf of its citizens. One of our members has written a letter in recognition of this remarkable resolution, and it is below.  I wish more of our elected officials were so committed to our welfare.

 

3) You still have a few days to provide your comments regarding the US Navy’s plan to do RFR warfare training over the Olympic Peninsula (and, no doubt, the islands and lower mainland of BC). Please take a few minutes to express your concerns, and please tell your MP and MLA about it.

Submit Your Comments Here by October 31st:

Online comment: https://cara.ecosystem-management.org/Public/CommentInput?Project=42759

 

  1. E-mail comments: comments-pacificnorthwest-olympic-pacific@fs.fed.us

 

http://us5.campaign-archive1.com/?u=6a45e903c6175f4f7893a68b0&id=b6459602ed  (link to a US group outraged by this)

 

*********************************

Letters:

 

From: Dennis and Sharon Noble [mailto:dsnoble@shaw.ca]

Sent: October 27, 2014 1:15 PM

To: ‘adrian.dix.mla@leg.bc.ca‘; John Horgan. Leader NDP

Cc: ‘Karagianis.MLA, Maurine’; ‘Shin.MLA, Jane Jae Kyung’

Subject: Saskatchewan report results in CEO of Sask Power resigning

Dear Mr. Dix and Mr. Horgan,

As you know from the material I’ve provided earlier, after 8 fires (all of which were “minor failures” resulting in little damage and no injuries), the Saskatchewan government ordered a cessation of the smart meter installations, and ordered an independent investigation. This investigation has found that the program was implemented with considering public safety  a priority, and the CEO has resigned.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/saskatchewan/saskpower-ceo-robert-watson-resigns-over-smart-meter-controversy-1.2814485

The blame is being put on many things, including moisture. Regulations require meters to be able to withstand the “elements” including moisture. Moisture inside meters is inevitable, coming from condensation if from no other source. Analogs, being metal and glass, can continue to function safely, but smart meters, being made of cheap combustible material, cannot.

I have provided evidence from government sources that far more than 8 meter failures have occurred in BC, yet Bill Bennett and BC Hydro continue to deny and to refuse to take any responsibility. One fire in Vernon was blamed on moisture getting into the smart meter, as if the fault was that of the owner and not BC Hydro’s.

The NDP in Saskatchewan pushed hard for this independent investigation. What is the NDP  going to do about this very important issue?

Regards,  Sharon Noble

___________________________________________________________________

From: ________

To: “robin austin mla” <robin.austin.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “harry bains mla” <harry.bains.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “raj chouhan mla” <raj.chouhan.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “katrine conroy mla” <katrine.conroy.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “kathy corrigan mla” <kathy.corrigan.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “judy darcy mla” <judy.darcy.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “adrian dix mla” <adrian.dix.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “doug donaldson mla” <doug.donaldson.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “david eby mla” <david.eby.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “mable elmore mla” <mable.elmore.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “mike farnworth mla” <mike.farnworth.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “rob fleming mla” <rob.fleming.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “scott fraser mla” <scott.fraser.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “sue hammell mla” <sue.hammell.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “george heyman mla” <george.heyman.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “gary holman mla” <gary.holman.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “john horgan mla” <john.horgan.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “carole james mla” <carole.james.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “maurine karagianis mla” <maurine.karagianis.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “leonard krog mla” <leonard.krog.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “jenny kwan mla” <jenny.kwan.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “norm macdonald mla” <norm.macdonald.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “michelle mungall mla” <michelle.mungall.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “lana popham mla” <lana.popham.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “bruce ralston mla” <bruce.ralston.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “jennifer rice mla” <jennifer.rice.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “selina robinson mla” <selina.robinson.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “bill routley mla” <bill.routley.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “jane shin mla” <jane.shin.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “nicholas simons mla” <nicholas.simons.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “shane simpson mla” <shane.simpson.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “claire trevena mla” <claire.trevena.mla@leg.bc.ca>
Sent: Monday, October 27, 2014
Subject: [Bills – Costs – Fires – Safety – Sensus – Saskatchewan] Saskatchewan Report CIC Introduction to Smart Meter Review (Oct. 27, 2014) – CBC Saskatchewan & Various Articles on Report & Resignation of SaskPower CEO Robert Watson

Dear NDP Representatives,

When are you going to stand up for BC Hydro and FortisBC customers who are at terrible risk with smart meters on our homes and businesses and in our neighbourhoods?

Please, take some action to protect us.

_______________________________________________
From: ________

To: “S Harper” <stephen.harper@parl.gc.ca>, “Christy Clark” <premier@gov.bc.ca>, “Bill Bennett” <bill.bennett.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Terry Lake” <terry.lake.mla@leg.bc.ca>
Cc: “Randall Garrison” <randall.garrison@parl.gc.ca>, “Elizabeth May C1” <elizabeth.may.C1@parl.gc.ca>, “James Moore” <james.moore@parl.gc.ca>, “Nycole Turmel” <nycole.turmel@parl.gc.ca>, “Adrian Dix MLA” <adrian.dix.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Sue Hammell MLA” <sue.hammell.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Gary Holman” <gary.holman.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “John Horgan MLA” <john.horgan.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Maurine Karagianis MLA” <maurine.karagianis.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Adam Olsen” <leader@greenparty.bc.ca>, “Lana Popham MLA” <lana.popham.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Andrew Weaver” <andrew.weaver.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Perry Kendall” <perry.kendall@gov.bc.ca>, “Dr. Richard Stanwick” <wendy.boyd@viha.ca>, “Ann Thomas” <ann.thomas@viha.ca>, “Sheila Malcolmson Chair” <smalcolmson@islandstrust.bc.ca>, “Peter Grove SSI Local Trustee” <pgrove@islandstrust.bc.ca>, “George Grams SSI Local Trustee” <ggrams@islandstrust.bc.ca>, “David Howe” <directorsgi@crd.bc.ca>, “Wayne McIntyre” <directorssi@crd.bc.ca>
Sent: Monday, October 27, 2014
Subject: [Bills – Costs – Fires – Safety – Sensus – Saskatchewan] Saskatchewan Report CIC Introduction to Smart Meter Review (Oct. 27, 2014) – CBC Saskatchewan & Various Articles on Report & Resignation of SaskPower CEO Robert Watson

When will this BC Government finally acknowledge that there are many problems with smart meters?  These problems don’t just occur with Sensus meters, they occur will all brands because of how they work and the materials they are made from.

How many fires and/or deaths will it take?  How much money can be spent on a program that is a fiasco in every way?

Please remove all dangerous smart meters and give us back the safe analogs.

_______________________________________
From: _______________

Sent: Monday, October 27, 2014 8:15 PM

To: mayor@spallumcheentwp.bc.ca

Subject: CONGRATULATIONS

To:  Township of Spallumcheen

Dear Mayor and Council,

I have known about the dangers of wireless technology for a long time.

Unfortunately, few of our leaders seem to know or care about the disastrous effects which the electro-magnetic radiation exerts upon all life – people, animals and all of nature.

Myself,  my family, my friends and students from around the world are very happy to learn that you and your small community have the wisdom and vision to recognize the severe health problems caused by electro-magnetic radiation.  It is also refreshing to witness your courage to say no to the undemocratic decisions of our government and big business.  Should they insist installing the dangerous wireless technology throughout B.C. communities, please show them the attached list which contains associations from around the world whose members share your vision as they recognize the immense dangers brought about by the cumulative effects of the wireless technology.

Thanks so much for your and your community’s admirable efforts to keep your people healthy, especially the children who are most vulnerable to EMR.  We can only hope that other townships and communities follow your great example.

Sincerely yours,  ___________________

___________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *